IPL is famous for the quality of cricket being played, sportsmanship spirit, and the thrilling vibe it has. Great players not only from India but from all over the world participate in it. So, it’s a talent pool and as it is being watched globally, it gives uncapped players a great opportunity to showcase their abilities. 

Though IPL always has had big names included in it, there were times when not so famous players bagged huge records, such as hitting the longest six in IPL history. Former all-rounder Albie Morkel is the one who hit the longest six in IPL history to date. 

Let’s go back in time and see which player holds this record and in what year he did so. Also, don’t forget to register yourself at 24betting to learn more about IPL match live odds.

Also Read  Should You Use Power Grips?

Longest Six in IPL History: 

Here’s a list of the top 10 players who hit the biggest six in IPL history.

 Sr.NoPlayerYearDistance in meters
1.Albie Morkel2008125
2.Praveen Kumar2011124
3.Adam Gilchrist2011122
4.Robin Uthappa2010120
5.Chris Gayle2013119
6.Yuvraj Singh2009119
7.Ross Taylor2008119
8.Gautam Gambhir2017117
9.Benn Cutting2016117
10.MS Dhoni 2009115

Albie Morkel – 125 meters, 2008

First on our list is the former all-rounder Albie Morkel. He’s the one who hit the highest meter six in IPL history to date. Morkel hit that six back in 2008 when he was playing for the CSK. And no one ever has gone beyond the 125-meter mark. 

Praveen Kumaar – 124 meters, 2011

The next on our list is Praveen Kumaar who hit a big 124 meters in 2011 when he was playing for the Kings XI Punjab. Though Praveen was not a big name of that time, still no one ever came close to his record. And interestingly, he smashed this sixer against Lasith Malinga. 

Also Read  Top Players in MLB History

Adam Gilchrist – 122 meters, 2011

Aussie legend and the former skipper of PBKS is next in our list of the biggest six in IPL. Adam Gilchrist hit this memorable six when he was the skipper of KXIP, back in 2011. He was fully in the form that season. And so, his 122 meters sixer wasn’t a surprise to the fans. 

Robin Uthappa – 120 meters, 2010

It was an event to be marked in the history of IPL when Robbin Uthappa smashed a sixer of 120 meters against Dwayne Bravo. Robin was playing for RCB and it was a match against CSK. His aggressive hit bagged him a record 120 meters sixer, which was the longest six in IPL of that season. Robin also has the record of being the highest run-getter in IPL history. 

Chris Gayle – 119 meters, 2013

The Universe Boss, Chris Gayle marked his name in the list of longest six in IPL history with his 119 meters sixer against Rising Pune Supergiants. He smashed this sixer while facing the ball from Ashok Dinda. Chris throughout his association with the RCB was the power-hitter of the team and was a great opener. 

Yuvraj Singh – 119 meters, 2009

Another player that shares the record of 119 meters sixer with Chris is Yuvraj Singh. He hit the highest sixer of his IPL career while he was captaining for the Kings XI Punjab, back in 2009. Yuvraj is known as one of the six-hitters of IPL history. In fact, fans know him as the sixer King. 

Also Read  The Story Behind the Inventors of the Slot Machine

Ross Taylor – 119 meters, 2008

The inaugural edition 2008 of IPL is known for various memorable events and the biggest sixers are the ones. Besides Albie Morkel, another player bagged the record for the longest six in IPL that year. Ross Taylor made this record while he was playing for the RCB against CSK. 

Gautam Gambhir – 117 meters, 2017

The only KKR player that managed to list himself in the biggest six in IPL history is Gautum Gambhir. He bagged this record with his massive 117 meters sixer, back in 2017. Gautum proudly captained KKR during their IPL winning seasons and gave the best of his performance. 

Ben Cutting – 117 meters, 2016

Besides winning the IPL trophy back in 2016, SRH players won some other individual titles as well. And that includes the longest six of 117 meters by the SRH player Ben Cutting. 

MS Dhoni – 115 meters, 2009

The cricket legend, MS Dhoni, managed to mark his name in the list of top 10 biggest sixers in IPL with his 115 meters sixer. Dhoni is known for his power-hitting performance and his calm attitude and made this record while captaining the CSK team back in 2009. 

error: Content is protected !!